Going Obsolete

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/going-obsolete/

Of all the technologies that have gone extinct in your lifetime, which one do you miss the most?

Two things came to mind from my childhood. A record player, and a rotary phone.

I remember when I was younger and I’d go into stores that sold nothing but vinyl albums! There were aisles and aisles of records, along with the section that contained the “singles”. Yes, you could even buy a single vinyl album. I remember the crackle of the needle touching the album and that goofy scratching sound the needle would make if you accidentally bumped it. And then there was that white noise that always came through the speakers and the repeat of the little thump if you didn’t bring the needle back to it’s stand at the end of the album. I don’t have any of my old albums anymore, and they all gave way to compact discs…and even those aren’t nearly as popular now as those have given way to mp3’s.

I grew up with a rotary phone. I remember push button was also available, but we had a rotary, and if you weren’t patient, well, you would never make a phone call. I hated numbers with 9’s or 0’s, because that rotary took FOREVER to come back around. And if the other line was busy…you had to dial all over again! Yes, technology has advanced, but I truly miss that phone and the time it made you slow down to actually talk to someone. You could only go as far as the cord stretched, so other activity was limited. It was a time when people actually talked to each other. I email and text more than I talk on the phone these days.

7 comments

Leave a Reply

