Just Another Day

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/just-another-day/

Our days our organized around numerous small actions we repeat over and over. What’s your favorite daily ritual?

Well, this one wasn’t hard. With all the stress of our day to day activities, you almost have to focus on something that you know will bring you pure joy regardless of the type of day you had. Something that no matter what, it will happen daily, no exceptions…something that is so dependable you’ve never once had to think it would not happen. And if for some reason, this doesn’t happen, you are left with an emptiness that only this ritual can fill.

Now, there are certain things that happen 5 days a week that I can depend on like this, and there are similar things that happen only on the weekends. But there is that one thing that happens 7 days a week without fail. And what’s even better is I decided each and every day when this takes place. And the timing is never wrong.

My favorite daily ritual…the moment I say I’m going to bed and my husband gets up and hugs me, kisses my forehead, tells me he loves me, then tucks me in telling me to have sweet dreams and says, “good night, beautiful”.

No matter what kind of day I’ve had, no matter my mood, this ritual has gone on daily for the last 16 years. And should for whatever reason, we be separated, there is the beauty of the phone, so those words are still the last words I hear as I close my eyes.

Yes, my favorite daily ritual comes at the very end of every day. And it’s something I look forward to each and every day…or I guess I should say, every night.

2 comments

Leave a comment