The Kindness of Strangers

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/the-kindness-of-strangers/

When was the last time a stranger did something particularly kind, generous, or selfless for you? Tell us what happened!

What’s really sad, is that I’m sitting here trying to think it. Is that how unkind we are as a society? Shouldn’t I just be able to immediately reflect on the last time and start writing about it? Am I thinking about it all wrong, or are we truly just so wrapped up in ourselves that a question like this isn’t something that can be answered off the top of my head.

And if I cannot answer it about others, does that mean others cannot answer it about me? Is my selfishness beyond even what I thought? Sadly, I have no answer for this either. Well, from this post, it is obvious that I need to start putting others first, less of myself. Of course the bible tells us to do that too. Apparently, I’m not reading that enough either.

And it’s just not that difficult. What comes to mind is a pay it forward next time I’m in the drive through! Something so easy, and something a total stranger won’t be expecting, but it will make their day. And sometimes, it needs to start with us in order to continue through others. We (I) need to be the stranger of kindness.

16 comments

  1. I would say that you have received many acts of kindness and the fact you can’t recall them means nothing. It means that kindness done to you and what you do for others is common place, not noticed.
    It is like living near a beautiful and scenic lake. To a stranger it’s breath taking, to the one who lives by it, it’s just water.

    1. I will take this as a very true statement. And personally, I would rather do something kind for others and not stop and think that I just did something kind, but just do it because it’s part of what I do. Which is how I believe it should be. Thank you.

  2. I had the same problem, I couldn’t think of any either so I turned it around and wrote about The UNkindness of Strangers in the hope that it will make people think and then maybe be more tolerant. I’m sure you are being kind without even thinking about it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

