Powerful Suggestion

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/powerful-suggestion/

What’s the one piece of advice you wish someone had given you a year (or five, or ten…) ago?

Ah…the if I had known then what I know now prompt. But how much fun would it actually be if we knew ahead of time? Honestly, I don’t think it would be of much fun at all. Isn’t that how we learn? You make mistakes, pick yourself up and move forward with the lessons learned?

And how often do we actually want to listen to someone tell us what to do? I know I usually want to do it my way (and yes, it can get you in trouble…but isn’t that half the fun?) I can remember always thinking my parents knew nothing…only to find out as I grew older and moved on with my own life that they truly knew a lot after all. Imagine that.

All that aside…if there was one suggestion I would take, it would also have to be one that I would give. You cannot take without giving…well, you shouldn’t anyway. As a writer, I find I live a lot through my words and it truly helps just to write. Never mind that I never go back to read them, and don’t edit. So, I guess that is part of my suggestion. Write and don’t edit.

But even more than that, smile often, and never have regrets about where you’ve gone and what you’ve done. And the reason behind that suggestion…because I believe everything we do is part of something bigger, and you cannot miss out just because you might regret, or it might cause a tear to drop. It just might cause a bigger smile down the road. There is a plan in all we do. No matter what direction you turn, there is a plan down that path.

So, smile often, no regrets, and write about it all without editing. I’m not saying this is the secret to life, but without smiles we’d always look so sad. And if we always had regrets, how would we ever continue moving forward and growing. And if you never write…well, maybe that’s a personal preference, but I find writing to be a release, great therapy, and an outlet unlike any other.

5 comments

  1. Great advice. Writing is my self-therapy also and is a way that I can share the best of myself.. give cyber love here and there and try to make another heart smile.

      1. 🙂 I couldn’t agree more! There was a darker time in my life that writing was basically the only way that I knew how to express myself at all. Made for some pretty good poetry, too! (although a bit sinister)

Leave a Reply

