Snapshot Stories

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/snapshot-stories/

Open the first photo album you can find — real or virtual, your call — and stop at the first picture of yourself you see there . Tell us the story of that photo.

I am lucky enough to have an entire room dedicated to my craft. No, not writing, although I do write in this place too. I have a room dedicated to my knitting. There are cubes of yarn and stacks of patterned books, along with a table and chair set, a spinning wheel, and even an old chair from my grandmother. It’s definitely my room, and if I took a snapshot, it would simply be captioned “Her Escape Route”. I love this room and the tranquility it brings me. And I have my husband to thank for it because he was kind enough to put every piece of this room together. I simply put everything in it’s place!

But even in this favorite place, I find a favorite place within the room that I love to be at even more. We’ll call it my desk, although it’s just a nice little sitting spot in the corner between some yarn and books. It’s a collapsible table for two in which the base gets mounted to the wall. Perfect for the small space where you need a table, but I’ve made into my desk.

I have my laptop here, along with a few other necessitates, including a few pens and some index cards, a calendar to write in, and some miscellaneous things. My back faces the window, so when I look up, I see the cork bulletin which displays a smattering of things I love including a paper heart I made that has the name of both me and my husband. A little love note to myself, but it makes me smile.

Tucked away in the corner of this board, you’ll find two pictures of me and him from our last trip to Disney World. One picture is of us in front of Cinderella Castle, while the other is with Mickey Mouse between us. What a fun trip, and yes, we would do it all over again if given the chance. The sunshine and the carefree days are always so enjoyable.

Yes, snapshots of picture can tell our stories, but this room I sit in also tells the story of where I like to come to get away from the demands of my world. This is my escape to just relax and enjoy a few of my favorite things. And although I always envision more time spent in here to craft, the beauty of my craft is that I can take it anywhere, so my snapshot is really wherever I am.

5 comments

Leave a Reply

