Writing 101: Day 1 – Unlock The Mind

First, I would like to welcome all of the Blogging University Writing 101 bloggers! I’m thrilled you’ve stopped by. Each post for this challenge will both have the category and tag of writing101. Feel free to have a look around. I also participate in the Daily Prompt postings. Those are categorized as Daily Thought and tagged with Daily Post. Hope you stop back soon!

*******

Today, take twenty minutes to free write. And don’t think about what you’ll write. Just write. And for your first twist? Publish this stream-of-consciousness post on your blog.

About a month ago, I decided to sign up for the WordPress Blogging University Writing 101 Class. I enjoy writing, but my writing is nothing more than thoughts, some of which are better organized than others. And those thoughts come from daily prompts. Some of which I can really write about, and others which I really struggle and simply just write the response and publish.

There’s a dream deep inside this soul of being a published author…of something. I’m not sure I am the fiction writer, but it’s also not something I have ever tried before. I imagine some of the writing that will come from this class will be of the story-telling kind. And I’m nervous about that. I don’t know how to write stories…or maybe I do but just think I cannot.

If I had to say right now what I think I would be good at writing, it would be articles in which I could research and then write on what I find. Doesn’t need to be a huge research project, but say a newspaper article writer, or even a magazine writer or articles. I’d even do blog writing articles if I knew such a thing existed.

My background isn’t writing. It’s numbers. I’m a financial analyst, so I crunch numbers. But my escape is writing words. I love to just sit down with a blank canvas and write, although usually free writing isn’t my first choice. I like to write to prompts because it gives me the foundation for my writing. To try and come up with that foundation on my own seems out of my league.

However, isn’t that what this class is all about? Allowing myself to be in a league that I think isn’t mine? And why shouldn’t I be there? Sure, it maybe scary, but when has something scary ever kept me from doing something. Life is scary. You never know from one minute to the next what will happen, but I don’t in the least bit live in fear because of that. I can’t control everything, so why try and control this too?

So, this concludes day one. The assignment was simply to write, or in my case type. And yes…I will publish, because I don’t see the point of not doing so.

I don’t know what tomorrow’s post will bring, but whatever it is, I will have a go at it! Oh…the other challenge was to get the Blogging University graphic on your blog. It’s the first image I’ve posted. The others have code. A little different, but I figured it out!

Leave a Reply

