Breathing Room

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/breathing-room

An extra room has magically been added to your home overnight. The catch: if you add more than three items to it, it disappears. How do you use it?

The older I get, the more I wonder how much I could downsize. My house isn’t big by today’s standards, but for just me and my husband, it is more than enough room. Of the three bedrooms we have, only one has a bed. One is my craft room, while the other room sits pretty much empty…more of a mini storage, but it’s really empty.

So, another room magically appearing would be more than we really need, but how would I use it with just three items? First, it could never be a room in which food or beverage was allowed in, because that would put me over the limit.

A couch or chair, except on the couch I’d want a pillow and blanket…so that could be three items and it could be a room to nap in! Ah…a napping room. But….how would I wake up? I’m not allowed an alarm clock, or another person to come in and wake me. Not sure those would be my items.

A tv and a recliner could work, but the blanket would then make the third item…and I wouldn’t be able to read.

Knitting is out of the question…as I need yarn and needles and a pattern….so I’m over three as it is.

This is really hard….I’m not sure I want this room. Less is more…but this is just a little more than I can handle! However, my husband had a really quick answer:

Invite the neighbors and their dogs over and show them the room!

Apparently, a disappearing machine was put into the room, because they all went poof with the snap of his fingers! Yikes…glad he didn’t say he’d throw me in the room!

Leave a Reply

