Gone With The Windfall

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/gone-with-the-windfall

You just inherited $1,000,000 from an aunt you didn’t even know existed. What’s the first thing you buy (or otherwise use the money for)?

How exciting would THIS be?? But before I get all excited, reality must hit. First, due to the fact that it’s an inheritance, there is a massive tax to be paid, so let’s just for the sake of math, say that is 50%. I’m now left with a half-million.

With what is left, I must pay my debts off to I can be free and clear. OK…so now all that is out of the way! Not sure how much fun, but with what is left, I know I can live a comfortable life in which I am not held a prisoner of debt. So…the first thing I would buy with what is left….

I don’t know, but I think it would be a trip to somewhere I have yet to see. I would love to travel the world, so I would use some of the money for that. After that, I would simply need to figure out how to live with less so that I would never have to live life just to survive, but rather live life with the happiness of doing the things that I enjoy.

Money, however, doesn’t buy happiness, but it can release one of their debt, and maybe allow for one to live a different and more carefree lifestyle. Until then…5am comes quick!

Leave a Reply

