Binding Judgment

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/binding-judgment/

Does it ever make sense to judge a book by its cover — literally or metaphorically? Tell us about a time you did, and whether that was a good decision or not.

I think I do all the time. I pick up a book, look at the cover, read the back, and judge it right there and then. If I want to read it, I either buy it or it goes on my wish list. Sometime, I’ll go to the library and see if they have it and check it out and read it for free. Other times, if the kindle version is fairly inexpensive and I think I want to read it, then I’ll buy that.

Series are a bit different. Say I read the first in the series, chances are I will simply read all the rest, regardless of the cover, or the back. Although those I tend to really stretch out because I like having the entire series available before I start reading.

There are a few books that due to the pre-published publicity, I have ordered, or bought on the release date. But there aren’t to many of those. I still “judge” based on what others are saying.

I know the saying is we shouldn’t judge a book by it’s cover, but in all reality, we do. Every time we pick up a book, we judge it some way.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

