Living Art

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/living-art/

One day, your favorite piece of art — a famous painting or sculpture, the graffiti next door — comes to life. What happens next?

1024px-Van_Gogh_-_Starry_Night_-_Google_Art_Project

I’ve always loved this painting. I think it’s the colors and how it just swirls. The deep blues and bright yellows just seem to call my name. The small little village seems so quaint…and yet there is just as much as a darkness to the painting too. Something about life mimics the painting. There’s the darkness we all have, yet we all want that brightness to shine through. We retreat to our homes so everything on the outside looks fine, but the inside isn’t something we observe.

If this painting were to come to life, I envision a much simpler time and a quieter life. I long for the old days of when a town had everything, and you were happy where you at. Everything you needed was right there. You could trade and barter for what you needed, and community was just that…community. I imagine a town that has a bakery, a post office, a general store, a blacksmith, a few farmers, and you know everyone and everyone can just pitch in to help the community thrive.

Not that I can imagine living in a era without the technology we have today, but to go back to basics and grow our own food, cook from scratch, even make clothes from raw materials (I know how to knit…so I envision spinning the yarn from the sheep, and then knitting hats and scarves and mittens for the town…maybe in exchange for meat…since I don’t own a cow!)

Of course, in my mind, I can live there anytime I want. Bummer reality always sneaks in.

3 comments

Leave a Reply

