Terminal Time

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/terminal-time/

You’re at the airport, your flight is delayed for six more hours, and none of your electronic devices are working. How do you pass the time?

I think the more important question here is why are NONE of my electronic devices working?? My electronic devices would include my phone, and maybe my kindle. Honestly…that is it. Oh…my laptop too. Seriously?? None of this is now working? And six more hours before I can take off. (How long have I already been delayed?)

Yikes!! What is a girl to do??

Well, I could head over to the nearest concession place and hope to get a drink, but chances are it’s filled with everyone else who is delayed for these six hours. Although a cup of coffee or tea does sound really good. So, I do think that is my first stop. A beverage.

Ok…now what? I have my beverage. NO FEAR!!! I’m well prepared!! Actually, I really am. And a quick look in my backpack tells me all I need to know. Yes, electronic devices are nice, however, I don’t solely depend on them.

I’m a knitter, and don’t really go anywhere without knitting. I carry several projects with me; new and in progress. I also carry a crochet hook or two because for instant gratification, I can whip up a cotton coaster. I probably am carrying enough yarn to make one for everyone on the plane. Yes…my knitting has it’s own bag, and that is my second carry-on piece.

Knitting is a slow process which means it truly forces you to slow down and create something stitch by stitch. A six-hour time block can mean great progress on some projects. Small projects, such as fingerless mitts (my personal favorite) can nearly be completely in those six hours. Socks are another popular item. However, the biggest challenge with these items is that there is two. Doing the first one isn’t a problem, it’s the second where boredom sets in.

Ok…craft projects aside. A trip to the airport gift shop is in order here. Of course, anything you buy will cost you nearly 10 times more than if you had pre-purchased and had it with you, but we won’t go there at this moment.

Books. They always seem to carry the latest titles, and usually not much more than the actual price. And when was the last time I actually read a book…in book form? I have my kindle, which for traveling makes for an awesome accessory, but it’s not working.

So, I suddenly feel like a kid in the candy store. I can browse, feel, touch, and even smell the contents of a real book! My senses are alive and giddy with excitement. But why stop at one? Six hours of non-stop reading? But what about the flight, and all that “vacation” down-time I’ll have? And then there’s the return flight home!

Ah…suddenly, I want to connect with something real. Something tangible. Something that with the flick of a switch doesn’t disappear! Yes, words can jump off a screen, but paper doesn’t need recharging.

For good measure…and a third option to make sure there is no getting bored, I would grab a couple of those puzzle magazines too. I like the find-a-word, or Sudoku puzzle. Of course, I’d have to buy a pen, but at this point, I’m not sure it matters. And if I didn’t throw one in my bag before leaving the house, I might toss in a deck of overpriced cards too! Actual solitaire with real cards? Oh the thought of it!

So, loosing my electronic items for six hours really isn’t the end of the world. I have my knitting, my books, puzzles, and a deck of cards. And I would probably be much more calm during the delay. Each of those things give the brain a chance to actually slow down, and in all honesty, I’m happiest when I can just slow down.

If only life could be delayed for six hours.

One comment

Leave a Reply

