Favorite Mistake

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/favorite-mistake/

Is there a mistake you’ve made that turned out to be a blessing — or otherwise changed your life for the better? Tell us all about it.

Is there really such a thing? I mean if every mistake takes us down a different path, who are we to say that wasn’t the path meant to be taken? If I turn right, but meant to turn left, maybe it was supposed to be right the entire time and I just had the illusion it was to be the other way.

I often do think that way. Sometimes what I deem as a mistake is really just the way I am supposed to go. Since we can never go back in time to see what the other direction, or choice, would get us, I just presume that I am exactly where I am supposed to be.

Now, there are mistakes, such as adding something incorrectly, or mistakes in a recipes (but even that can turn out better than planned). In my knitting, mistakes can usually be spotted since it’s a pattern being followed, but often times, if you just don’t point it out, no one would ever notice…so, it’s just me actually noticing the mistake.

Mistake is probably one of those overused words. By definition, it’s an action or judgement that is misguided. If I knowingly do something incorrectly, well, that’s not a mistake, that’s just me wanting to do what I want knowing in the first place that I shouldn’t.

I am one of those that truly believes that we learn and grow from our mistakes, for without them, how would we ever try and improve either ourselves, or the situation at hand. It’s been said that parents make mistakes with the first born, and thus the ones that follow those mistakes don’t happen. I wouldn’t know, as I am not a parent, but I’ve seen it enough in those that are.

I know that there are little things in my life that can be chalked up to a mistake, but nothing so major that I can think of, and honestly, it was probably a blessing anyway. I am of the belief that everything happens for a reason…even those so-called mistakes.

3 comments

  1. I 100% agree with you. Your post is very similar to mine. To me, mistakes are never in fact ‘mistakes’ as long as we either learn from it, or something good comes out of it. With that said, true mistakes are rare. Great post!

Leave a Reply

