An Ounce Of Home

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/an-ounce-of-home/

You’re embarking on a yearlong round-the-world adventure, and can take only one small object with you to remind you of home. What do you bring along for the trip?

I’ve thought about this prompt all day long. What would I take…or maybe the better question is what doesn’t get packed? Space is obviously an issue, right? You can’t really a months worth of clothes…I’d bring a lot of interchangeables, especially since I could do laundry. I don’t wear make up…so no needing that. Let’s just say all the toiletries needed are packed.

I usually don’t travel without yarn and needles, and enough for several projects. My knitting bag would be stuffed if I was leaving for a year…although, I could just take my needles and some accessories because I could simply buy yarn along the way. I could buy some patterns too, so maybe my bag isn’t as stuff as I think.

As for books…I have a kindle so all the books I could ever think of reading in a year are on there. Of course, I could probably buy more within the year, because you know there will be some amazing books that come out that I’ll want to read!

I think my phone is a given…so I’ll have all the useless apps and crap I could ever want. There are some great photos on there too…but honestly, do I really need the 269 photos I have on there? Sure…probably not a lot to some, but for me, it’s a lot.

I think my laptop is almost a guarantee, as I can blog, email, surf, and journal. I’m not one for notebooks and pen. Give me a keyboard!

So none of that really describes any bit of home. Those are just must have travel necessities…well, at least for me. I need something to give me the comfort of home.

And when I think of it in that way, well, it’s an easy decision. My pillow and the little blanket that I curl up on the couch with. Those two items can bring a lot of comfort when that homesickness sets in. And as fun as the travel adventure would be, I really cannot imagine being away from home for a full year.

Leave a Reply

