Set For Solstice

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/set-for-solstice/

Today’s Summer Solstice, the longest day of the year (in the Northern Hemisphere). How are you taking advantage of the extra hours of light this time of year? Do you like it, or do you already miss earlier sunsets?

A bittersweet day! I’ve waited an entire year, building up each day over the past six months. There’s the anticipation, the excitement, and the joyfulness that summer has finally arrived. Although, looking out my window, you would never know. It’s raining, foggy, and only 58 degrees outside. Not exactly summer weather.

However, with any luck, the clouds clear up and the temperature warm up and it will at least feel like summer. Ah…and if the sun does come out, well, I can enjoy it until 8:34pm tonight, sunset. Apparently, the sunrise was at 5:10am…of which I was still sleeping.

But here is the depressing part in all this for me…after today, which is the longest day of daylight for the year…yes, it goes downhill, as each day will now give me less and less sunlight.

So, as summer begins, the days begin to get shorter. Seems the older I have gotten, the more bummed out I get about this. However, I have also learned to enjoy each and every minute. Why dwell on what I’ll be losing each day…instead, dwell on the gift given each day…and for today, it’s over 15 hours of daylight!

One comment

Leave a Reply

