Writing Space

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/writing-space/

Where do you produce your best writing — at your desk, on your phone, at a noisy café? Tell us how the environment affects your creativity.

I can write anywhere I have access to a computer. I’ve written at work, home, even on the bus. We do have a little local coffee shop in town, which I have attempted to write there, but I’m more distracted by all the activity to really be able to write. The library can also offer a nice place to write too, but I’m more interested in the books than sitting down to write.

Guess that narrows it down more…I need a quieter spot. I have a little desk in my knitting room that my laptop sits on and I probably do most of my writing there. The front porch is another popular place for me as I can still get wi-fi. And although I don’t need the internet in which to write, I find I like my online writing tools better than my off-line.

Although I have many empty journals begging for words to cover their pages, I find that I am of more the digital kind of writer now verses the pen and paper. Long-hand writing is definitely a slower process, and I just haven’t really embraced the slowness of writing. I prefer to write via my keyboard.

And since I have a laptop, there really isn’t any where I won’t write, but my desk is really my most favorite spot.

One comment

Leave a Reply

