Back of the Queue

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/back-of-the-queue/

Is there something you’ve always wanted to do, but never got around to starting (an activity, a hobby, or anything else, really)? Tell us about it — and tell us about what’s keeping you from doing it.

Ah, the old “I wish I would have” post. The short answer is no. I do what I am able to do with what I have been given. Time and resources vary for each of us, so sometimes being able to do what we truly want to has to take a back seat to doing what we have to in order to live.

My hobbies include knitting, in which I have all the resources and tools (even a room in my house to create). If I were to ever need more yarn, or new needles, well, there are more than enough places in which to get it.

Another hobby is reading, and with a kindle and a library within 2 miles of where I live, new books to read are never an issue. I also love to write, and with the laptop, and outlets allowing me to freely write, well, there is no wishing for more on that end.

I’m sure buried deep inside this brain of mine there is something, but I also try to be content with what I do, and realize that not everything I wish for will happen. And if you are happy in the present with what you have, then you’ll never wish for more.

Make the most of what you have, and you never know…opportunity might just fall into your lap. But my wish is that there is never regret for the “what ifs” we never pursue. And to be joyful for all the things we’ve done.

4 comments

  1. Absolutely beautiful. I’m trying my hardest to get where you are mentally, but it’s quite the challenge when you’ve been stuck in the same mind set for 35 years, My 11 year old son and I practice Buddhism daily in an attempt to re-train our brains. I hope to one day be right where you are. Thank you for sharing.

    ~Kate

    1. Thank you. Keep thinking in the moment, remain positive and grateful for what you have, and most of all, just enjoy. You’ll get there. Thank you for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

