Fearless Fantasies

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/fearless-fantasies/

How would your life be different if you were incapable of feeling fear? Would your life be better or worse than it is now?

There are so many levels of fear that it’s almost impossible to even imagine life without it. There is fear that is strictly emotional, fear that is physically, and fear that is mental. There is fear that is for our safety, and fear that can be paralyzing.  And even though you and I may fear the same thing, how we fear it would be so different. But would I ever want to live in a world in which I couldn’t experience fear?

Not a chance.

But it depends on how you view fear. For me, I view it as an emotion which holds me back from something. But that something might be life saving. For example, I fear living my life in jail. No…not that I ever think I will, but it’s the fear of what that kind of life would be like to keep me from doing something that would land me in jail. I believe even criminals have this fear…although their fear is probably more of getting caught.

Feeling fear is also a safety mechanism, and I would never want to give that up. All of our safety precautions are in place to help ease that fear and bring a sense calmness to us so we can think clearly. Think of a fire (which I know is a great fear for some), but the fear of it makes you take extra steps in helping you survive. Smoke detectors, fire alarms, knowing exit routes, knowing to lay low on the ground, fire extinguishers, fire drills in schools and in workplaces, and an emergency meeting location. All these are in place to take away the fear of a fire and allow you to have just enough fear that you follow safety procedures.

I guess for me, I don’t mind feeling fear in any way. Some fears I can simply move forward with, while others might take some time, but the thought of not feeling fear and potentially being led into harms way actually is more fearful to me than just simply feeling it to begin with.

3 comments

Leave a Reply

