Long Exposure

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/long-exposure/

Among the people you’ve known for a long time, who is the person who’s changed the most over the years? Was the change for the better?

I’m pretty sure there is a saying that the more things change, the more they stay the same…and that could certainly be applied to this prompt. As for the person I’ve known the longest, well, that would be me. And if I’m not to include myself, then it would have to be my parents.

But I can’t say that my parents have really changed much over all these years. Sure, fashions have come and gone, and new technology has graced us, but as to the personality, values, morals, and the depths of their souls…no, nothing has changed. Still the same loving, caring, and parental figures that they were when I was just an infant needed them 24/7.

And sure, I’ve changed a bit over the years, but then again, not really. Again, the fashions and styles have changed and I’ve either embraced them or gone off on my own with what I like. My appearance really hasn’t changed, except maybe the length of my hair, and maybe some gray in it. But when I think of my husband, and that we’ve been together for nearly 21 years now, I can’t think of much that has changed. We’re still the best of friends and still bug the crap out of each other with the same things that bugged us 21 years ago.

In all honesty, we don’t really change. We might waiver a bit on opinions, what’s in and out, and what type of technology we want to use, but we are already wired as we are always going to be wired. And even if a few things come and go, for the most part, we all stay the same.

One comment

Leave a Reply

