Sudden Shifts

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/sudden-shifts/

You’re at the beach with some friends and/or family, enjoying the sun, nibbling on some watermelon. All of a sudden, within seconds, the weather shifts and hale starts descending form the sky. Write a post about what happens next.

Yes, weather can change on a dime! Standing joke here is to simply wait a minute or two and you’ll get something different. I watched the video, and although I’ve never seen things change that dramatically, I have been in rain so hard that we had to pull over. I’m not talking just a bad shower, I’m talking walls of water that are so intense that the road becomes a river, and there is so much water that you cannot see a thing.

I’ve also witness snow storms and blizzards that even though they were coming were more intense than predicted. We get plenty of wind gusts too that are somewhat intense, but that is just a part of living in the country.

As for what to do next, when the rain hit, we pulled over until we could see again. When major snow is predicted, I tend to go grocery shopping to get some food for the “lockdown” mode I put myself into, and as for the wind, nothing except take down my hanging plant and wind chime.

I think common sense is all that is truly needed, and I was glad to see in the video that all took cover.

Leave a Reply

