Sudden Downpour

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/sudden-downpour/

It was sunny when you left home, so you didn’t take an umbrella. An hour later, you’re caught in a torrential downpour. You run into the first store you can find — it happens to be a dark, slightly shabby antique store, full of old artifacts, books, and dust. The shop’s ancient proprietor walks out of the back room to greet you. Tell us what happens next!

We chat about the weather and how quickly it’s changed. This store isn’t the kind of store I normal go into, so I’m taken aback by what is here.

He tells me to just look around and stay as long as I want. I check out the merchandise, and find something small to purchase. Maybe a coaster, or button, or pin. There are books, but nothing I really want. I just find a little something that brings me a smile.

And as the rain lets up, I pay for my item, and continue on my way. No…I won’t be back, but I found something new today and stayed dry in the process.

3 comments

Leave a Reply

