The Eighth Sin

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/the-eighth-sin/

Remember the seven cardinal sins? You’re given the serious task of adding a new one to the list — another trait or behavior you find particularly unacceptable, for whatever reason. What’s sin #8 for you? Why?

In yesterday‘s post, I wrote about knitting hats and mittens for the winter and how I much prefer making them versus buying automated made objects. Something about the feel of the yarn and the coming together of the project.

As any crafter will tell you, there is a level of supplies in which you use. Normally, the best your money will buy. But sometimes, you go above that and have a standard that will not be broken…thus, if you do not live up to this standard, you’ve broken the 8th sin!

For me, I will not knit with any yarn that has acrylic in it! I just won’t! I knit with pure wool, cotton, bamboo, and alpaca just to name a few. All natural fibers. Acrylic is a synthetic fiber of polyacrylonitrile…aka, thermoplastic that degrades before melting! No thank you! It may be cheap, but I won’t knit a hat of cheap plastic, that won’t even keep you warm!

My Eighth Sin: Knitting with acrylic!

6 comments

  1. I learned to knit back in November last year. I generally use cotton or wool, and haven’t done it much since I live in FL and only know the basic “make a scarf or hat” – which isn’t much use here. But that is good to know about the acrylic yarn. I never really paid much attention to it all since I was just learning.

    1. Keep at it!! Try dishcloths and coasters! Those are great to learn new stitches yet easy. And great to knit with cotton! There are lots of different cottons to choose from. Websites like Knitpicks.com, and ravelry.com are great starting points. Also…check out your local library for books. You can seek out a yarn shop in your area too. I just don’t find acrylic yarn pleasant to knit with…and I just prefer the natural fibers. In the yarn world…I’m known as a “Yarn Snob”. lol…

Leave a Reply

