Discussion Enders

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/discussion-enders/

We’ve all had exchanges where we came up with the perfect reply — ten minutes too late. Write down one of those, but this time, make sure to sign off with your grand slam (unused) zinger.

In the business world, the discussions end all the time and for the most part, they have happened so fast that you just cannot process what took place. And by the time you do, you’re left spinning because you realize you’ve agreed to something that either cannot be done, needs more than a quick minute to do, or is so far out of the league of the department that it’s impossible to do.

I’ve been there many times and have no “zinger” to use here.

However, during a recent work conversation, in which the mood was dim, the question was asked:

“What’s the best thing to happen to you so far this week?”

PANIC!! Now I need to think quickly on my feet for something of a personal nature. And I really don’t share a lot of personal details with those I work with…boundaries!!

But actually, it wasn’t that hard. I had won a weekly contest in which the prize was 5 brand new book releases and all different genres. And what was most exciting about this prize was that one of the books I’ve been on the library’s waiting list for weeks…but know I own it!

The question led to me and a co-worker talking about something we never had any intention of sharing…and yet we were both so happy for each others happening! So next time I’m looking for a great (and positive way) to end a discussion, I can just pose the question.  It’s a great card to play when you want to end something on a positive note!

Leave a Reply

