Upturned Noses

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/upturned-noses/

Even the most laid back and egalitarian among us can be insufferable snobs when it comes to coffee, music, cars, beer, or any other pet obsession where things have to be just so. What are you snobbish about?

Yarn! I am what is known as a yarn snob! I only purchase yarn that is made with natural fibers. Nothing man-made, artificial, or synthetic (aka…ACRYLIC!!) I’m mostly buy pure wool yarn, however, 100% cotton, alpaca, and bamboo do make up my collection. I also do not buy washable yarn because they are chemically processed in order to become washable. I will gladly hand wash my knits.

My reasoning is actually very simple. If I’m going to spend and take the time to hand-knit something, then I want the best materials available. And I much prefer natural materials. They actually last longer and are a lot warmer (or cooler…as is cotton yarn), take more wear and tear, and wool actually becomes softer and more supple with use.

7 comments

  1. I am with you there, although I do no longer knit so much. I attended dress making classes for about 10 years and you learn the quality of the fabric you use. I do not like synthetic material. I prefer the real thing, 100%, wool, silk whatever. The result is always good. I dislike the electric touch that arrives with the synthetics.

Leave a Reply

